Author Archives: Steve

CWCC AGM 2020 – Update

CWCC have bowed to circumstances and will no longer be holding a face-to-face meeting this year. It was due to be Monday 21st but will now be postponed and held over Zoom (or other suitable platform). This is being investigated & trialled.

Many Thanks

CWCC Committee


This year’s AGM will be held at Great Broughton Village Hall on Monday 21st September, starting at 19:45. All club members are welcome to attend (but see limitations below) and if anyone has anything they’d like the meeting to discuss they can raise it by emailing to

Officials standing down this year are Mike Cole as chairman and Kristan Wadrop as treasurer. We thank them both for their fine work over the years that they held the positions. Those positions need to be filled, along with the role of Vice Chairman, and thankfully we have people prepared to step up. If anyone esle is interested in a role do let us know, by the email above.

Due to the current circumstances, and as part of the usage conditions for the village hall, we request that all those attending use face coverings. Seating will be organised so as to be distanced. The amount of attendees is limited to 30.

2020 Open Hillclimb

It’s less than a month now until the hill climb double-header of Clay Bank and Carlton Bank, held on Sunday 27th September.

This year the Stockton Wheelers event (Carlton) starts earlier so as to join more seamlessly with Cleveland Wheelers event (Clay). The idea is to make it more attractive to people who want to try both, no hanging round for hours between events. The plan is to give people riding both events the same number in both events so they don’t have to bother changing over numbers etc between events. As always there will be a prize for the best combined time.
Get your entries in, entry closes in 2 weeks!

Evening Series Tonight

Event cancelled due to too much standing water on the course and the likelihood of even more to follow.

Evening Series Week 1 (23-07-2020)

Last night was the first event of this year’s curtailed Evening Series. It’s been a testing year for anyone used to group activities and it was quite a relief to get last night’s event on and for it to run so successfully at such short notice. Many thanks to those who took the time to organise it and to those who turned up to ride, without whom the event would be pointless.

Fastest on the night was Ross Turner at 19:34, who was also fastest road bike. Fastest female was Lauren Watson at 23:24.

This is a link to the full unaudited results. If you spot any mistakes do let us know ASAP.

Here is a link to an album of photos taken by CWCC resident photographer Michael Guess. Feel free to use any for non-commercial purposes.

See you all again next week!