Wheelers’ Presentation Night 2017

The 2017 edition of the CWCC Prize Presentation Evening was held at Guisborough RUFC on Friday 24th March.

The catering was once again top-notch, many thanks to Marcus for sorting that, and to the organising sub-committee for managing to put the event on despite numerous frustrations with double-bookings and venue clashes.

There was a good turn-out and as well as the usual suspects, it was good to see some new names on some of the Wheelers’ trophies, particularly Carl Maynard with the road race trophy and Mike Gettings with the Free Wheeling, thankfully beating Marcus “sneaky” Smith to the prize.

Wheelers Presentation 24-03-2017 20-55-05

Carl Maynard

Wheelers Presentation 24-03-2017 20-54-045

Mike Gettings

The biggest haul of the night went to Richard Lilleker who had to phone Prestons of Potto to help have his trophies taken home.

Wheelers Presentation 24-03-2017 21-17-18

Richard Lilleker

Steve Binks proudly showed his BBC Unsung Hero award off and wife Sherry was awarded a certificate honouring her own long-standing service to the club.

Wheelers Presentation 24-03-2017 19-59-19

Steve & Sherry Binks

Congratulations to all of those who were awarded prizes for last season. Hopefully this year will prove to be as popular and as competetive.

See you all next year!

Evening Series Entries – Update

As of Monday, 20 March the following riders had registered for the Evening Series :-

1. Jeff Horrocks
2. Richard Weatherill
3. Dave Kirton
4. Richard Lilleker
5. Thomas Bunn
6. David Peacock
7. Sandra Main
8. Tony Main
9. Paige McLeod
10. Rob Maude

11. David Smith
12. Graeme Tate
13. Shaun O’Shea
14. Mark Rigby
15. Stephen Belbin
16. Jason Cullen
17. Kath Blakey
18. Jonathan White
19. Jim Robson
20. Anne Robson

21. Roger Oldroyd
22. Natalie Curgenven
23. Chris Ankcorn
24. Patrick Traylor
25. Robert Lee
26. Guy McClements
27. Eoin Carroll
28. Rob Johnston
29. Vicky Tucker
30. Colin Moore

31. Richard Carter
32. Tom Levell
33. Carl Taylor
34. Ian Hutchinson
35. Diane Mayes
36. Paul Williams
37. Michael Penketh
38. John Main
39. Harry Tanfield
40. Toby Tanfield

41. Charlie Tanfield
42. Peter Rogers
43. Neal Archer
44. John Perry
45. Ross Turner
46. Steven Turner
47. Gavin Chatto
48. Tricia Bell
49. Robin Stocks
50. Barbara Kettle

51. John Kettle
52. Steven Potter
53. Roger Davies
54. Katarzyna Carter
55. Dan Wright
56. Stephen Oyston

Don’t forget that registrations close on 1 April.

Last Call For Club Prize Presentation

It’s the club’s Annual Prize Presentation on Friday, 24 March 2017 at Guisborough Rugby Club from 7:00 pm onwards.

See the flyer for more information :


Junior Track Taster Sessions

British Cycling are running junior track sessions over the Easter holidays on Thursday 20th April. There are rides for beginners (no track experience) and for intermediates (some track experience). Bike hire is available and the sessions cost £5 booked in advance or £6 on the day.
Note: This is for the Velodrome, not the Cycle Circuit.

Full details can be found here.

CWCC “Hilly 21” Open TT

The first event of the Cleveland Wheelers open TT calendar took place on Sunday 12th March. The weather didn’t look too promising at the start but soon brightened up to provide almost ideal conditions for riding.
This was the competition’s first year on a revised course, one which is hopefully safer and provides a better “rider experience” but which also is slightly less lumpy than before. We were thankful for the positive feedback we received about the new route.
The winner was Keith Murray of DRAG2ZERO in a time of 43:42, followed by Shaun Tyson of Adept Precision and Dominic Munnelly of Newcastle Cheviot. Fastest female was Holly Flannery of Team Jadan-Weldtite in a time of 51.30. First Cleveland Wheeler home was Richard Lilleker in 48:41.
This was Keith’s 10th success in the event. Well done to Keith, and thank you to all those who participated and who helped out with the event, both in its preparation and in its running on the day. Further thanks go to The House Designerwear of Yarm for their continued support of CWCC events.
A photo gallery of the event is available at the bottom of this post and the full results are available at the CTT website, here.

Read the rest of this entry