Novelty Events Social

Freewheeling Competition – 3 November

The annual CWCC Freewheeling Competition was held this morning on Stone Stoup Hill outside Ingleby Greenhow. There was a reasonable turnout despite a soggy start to the day.

The bookies’ favourites – Harry and Charlie Tanfield didn’t disappoint finishing first and second respectively. However, third place went to a dark horse, Neil Proctor, who seemed to still have plenty of momentum left when the put his feet on the ground a tad too early!

The recording of the positions was a bit hit and miss but I think the next few riders were Paul Sanderson,  Andy Curson, Tom Levell, Marcus Smith, Dan Waring, Andrew Kneeshaw…..

There were a couple of photographers there – Marcus and Richard Carter so expect some snaps on social media.



Novelty Events

Freewheeling Competition – change to start time.

The start time has been put back an hour to 12:00 to allow riders time to do the club run (or part of) and then get back for the Freewheeling.

Novelty Events

Freewheeling Competition

It’s the club’s Freewheeling Competition this Sunday, 5 November. Will Mick Gettings retain his title?

Novelty Events Social Special Events Time Trials

CWCC Team Time Trial

Here are the results of the mixed ability Team Time Trial. A close run affair with only a couple of minutes separating all of the teams.

Well done to everyone who took part, and to Rob Maude for having the idea and for organizing it.


Click the image to enlarge or click here for a PDF version.

Novelty Events Social Special Events


27 riders took part today in the annual CWCC freewheeling competition, results below.
Well done to Marcus Smith for his second recent win on a bike borrowed from a Tanfield. Maybe Marcus knows his own bearings don’t run smooth enough…?


  1. Marcus Smith
  2. Michael Gettings
  3. Stewart Tanfield
  4. Harry Tanfield
  5. Mike Rennison
  6. Andy Kneeshaw
  7. Charlie Tanfield
  8. Darren Pine
  9. Julie McNicholas
  10. Shaun O’Shea
  11. Toby Tanfield
  12. Dave Kirton
  13. Chris Roose
  14. Martin Pountain
  15. Debbie Pine
  16. Paul Curry
  17. Roy Turner
  18. Trish Bell
  19. Diana Mayes
  20. John Carr
  21. Margaret Turner
  22. Thomas Fryatt
  23. Ross Turner
  24. Steve Binks
  25. John Kell
  26. Isabelle Mayes
  27. Rebecca Mayes