Racing Special Events

C & S Tyres Circuit Of Welbury

Friday 13th August saw the running of the Tyne Tees Road League’s “C & S Tyres Circuit Of Welbury”. Many of the region’s top teams were in action, including a good turn out from Cleveland Wheelers, both from the Catley Lakeman/CWCC RT and from an enthusiastic group of “amateur racers”, some racing for the very first time.

The Open (“Elite”) race was won by Catley Lakeman/CWCC rider Matty Dobbin with Ross Turner of Fietsen Tempo in second and Aaron Preston of Catley Lakeman/CWCC in third.

The Masters/Novice race was won at a canter by Dave Lawson of Fietsen Tempo with Chris Mather of Derwentside CC in second and CWCC’s Peter Gunn (the smirking assassin) in third. Luke Robinson of Fietsen Tempo picked up the junior win.

Many, many thanks to Marcus Smith for getting this race on. Organising a road race is no easy task, especially now, and it was greatly appreciated not just by CWCC but by all the teams in the region. A great night was had by all who attended and hopefully the event can re-establish itself in the region’s racing fixtures.

Here is a link to a gallery of photos from the night, all taken on the start/finish line by CWCC secretary Steve Tilly in “burst mode” to hopefully give a real feel for the action. Feel free to download any photos you want for your own personal use, feel free to credit CWCC in any that you do use.